News & Events

scrolnav

19 January 2024
The 10th webinar : How the built environment impacts resilient healthcare systems

RHCS Webinar Series

How the built environment impacts resilient healthcare systems

Friday 19th January

 

Speakers:

Assistant Professor Herminia Machry – School of Architecture and Design, University of Kansas.

Dr Laura Cambra-Rufino – Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Spain.
 

Chair:
Natalia Ransolin – Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Macquarie University, Australia; Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil.
 

Abstract: Research on patient safety underscores the role of the physical environment in facilitating or impeding work performance in health systems. To improve design for safety, engagement and cognition we need to understand the functional and environmental factors in acute care hospital design such as how the layout and interior design of settings such as ICUs and operating theatres can impact flow disruptions, risky behaviors, social interactions and mastery.
Natalia, Herminia and Laura will guide us on a discussion about the role the built environment plays in resilient performance and better health care delivery.

There will be time for discussion and questions after the conversation.
 

Speaker Biographies:

Assistant Prof. Herminia Machry is an internationally licensed architect with a Mater’s in Architecture from USP (Brazil) and a PhD in Planning, Design and the Built Environment from Clemson University. Her experience spans work in architecture firms, universities, and research centres. In the past 18 years, she worked as a design practitioner on several healthcare facility projects; as an adjunct professor at three universities; and as a researcher specialized on healthcare and evidence-based design studies. Her research mainly focuses on improving design for safety, engagement, and cognition outcomes within healthcare environments. More specifically, her studies aimed at understanding how the layout and interior design of settings such as ICUs and operating rooms can impact flow disruptions, risky behaviours, social interactions, environmental mastery, and ergonomics. Herminia’s most valuable contributions to evidence-based design and healthcare design have been related to the design of operating rooms, Neonatal ICUs (NICUs), and, more recently, the design of doffing spaces at ICUs treating COVID-19 patients. Herminia is joining the University of Kansas this Fall as a tenure-track Assistant Professor, in the Interior Architecture program, where she continues her research and educational practices on human-centered and evidence-based design.

Dr Laura Cambra-Rufino Architectural doctor accredited in the evidence-based design process. Specialist in research on healthcare architecture. Laura is currently researching alongside health personnel in the INVESTÉN unit of the Carlos III Health Institute thanks to one of the grants, Margarita Salas. Her doctoral thesis focuses on the evaluation of hospital architecture and was funded by a FPU contract from the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports.
 

Future webinars will account for different time zones.

Time Difference:
Sydney time: 7:00 am Friday 19th January
Tokyo time 5:00 am Friday 19th January
NZ time – 9:00 am Friday 19th January

Norway time 9:00 pm Thursday 18th January
Netherlands time 9:00 pm Thursday 18th January
UK time 8:00 pm Thursday 18th January

Florida time– 3:00 pm Thursday 18th January
Brazil time – 5:00 pm Thursday 18th January
Vancouver time– 12:00 pm Thursday 18th January

 

>> PDF file

Categories

Share Post: twitter