Resilient Health Care Society

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Wednesday 23 August 2023, 12:00 CEST

The purpose of this meeting was to review and report on the activities of the RHCS over the previous 12 months; and elect committee and signatory members, set membership fees, and review planned activities for the forthcoming year.

Agenda items as follows:

1. Opening:

RHCS Chairperson Mary Patterson opened the meeting at 12:02 CEST.

2. Election of Chairperson, Secretary and Adjuster of the protocol for the AGM:

Mary Patterson was elected unopposed as the Chairperson, Robyn Clay-Williams was elected unopposed as the Secretary, and Berit Axelsson was elected unopposed as the Adjuster.

3. Pre-meeting administration (quorum) and approval of minutes:

Quorum was ascertained, including 29 RHCS members present (online) and no written mandates for absent members (Article 9). Rob Robson moved that the minutes be accepted, and Makiko Takizawa seconded, Carried.

4. Report of activities:

Chairperson report. Mary Patterson presented a report on the pervious 12 months' activities including the summer meeting in Florida in May (early, due weather), webinars, and ExCom meetings. There are a few outstanding things to consider: developing a process for staggering election of the committee members, and deciding on guidelines for spending RHCS funds.

Secretary report. Robyn Clay-Williams presented the secretary report: there were seven ExCom meetings held over the previous 12 months, and 8 new members were recruited in the last 12 calendar months.

Status of website report. Kazue Nakajima reported on three aspects of the website. (1) The top page provides an announcement of next year's meeting in Stavanger. (2) There is a page on this year's meeting in Florida, and Kazue will upload slides when they are ready. (3) Re. Jeannette Hounsgaard's suggesting of creating a communication page on website – this will be expensive but we will continue to consider when we discuss the Society's budget. In the interim, we have used Slack for the last few months, but this has now been closed as the free trial period has ended. On behalf of the members, Mary

thanked Kazue and her team for the tremendous amount of work accomplished on the website.

Treasurer report. Axel Ros presented the treasurer report (copy appended to the minutes).

- Membership status update. There are 23 new members (if counted since the summer meeting in Jönköping). We now have 89 members total.
- Annual accounts were presented.
- 5. Audit report on annual accounts:

The Scrutineer, Andrew Johnson, endorsed the treasurer report and recommended it be accepted by the society.

6. Question about freedom for liability for the board:

Acceptance of the annual accounts was Moved Rob Robson, seconded Berit Axelsson, Carried.

7. Election of committee members:

Election of Executive Committee. (Article 10). Mary thanked Rob Robson, Carl Horsley and Tarcisio Saurin for their work on the nomination committee. Jeffrey is stepping down from the ExCom this year, leaving an open member at large position. On behalf of the members, Siri thanked Jeffrey for his considerable service in building the society. There were three nominees for the new position, and they have agreed to serve if elected: Jaap Hamming, Janet Anderson and Tarcisio Saurin. An anonymous poll was taken. Janet and Tarcisio received equal votes first round, and Jaap was eliminated. Following a second round Tarcisio was elected as the new member at large.

- Chairperson: Mary Patterson, elected unopposed (Carried)
- Secretary: Robyn Clay-Williams, elected unopposed (Carried)
- Treasurer: Axel Ros, elected unopposed (Carried)
- Members at large: Siri Wiig, Kazue Nakajima, all elected unopposed, and Tarcisio Saurin elected as above (Carried)

Election of Signatories (Article 3). Axel Ros and Mary Patterson were elected as signatories unopposed. Moved Makiko Takizawa, Seconded Rob Robson, Carried.

Election of the Nomination Committee (Article 10). A new member was needed to replace Tarcisio. After some discussion, Peter Hibbert volunteered. Moved Mary Patterson, Seconded Carl Horsley, Carried.

8. Approval of the annual fee (Article 8). The annual fee continues to be set at 40 Euros for regular membership, 20 Euros for student membership, 10 Euros for patient representative members, 10 Euros for professional/individual members from LMICs, free for other members of LMICs (e.g. patients and their representatives, or students). We do not have

- members from LMICs at the moment. Approval of the fee schedule was moved by Mary Patterson, Seconded Rob Robson, Carried.
- 9. Election of Accountant (Article 14). Andrew Johnson was elected unopposed. Moved Mary Patterson, Seconded Berit Axelsson, Carried.
- 10. Election of honorary members. No nominations.
- 11. Outline of planned activities. A webinar is planned for around November (date to be confirmed), and the next Summer meeting will be in Stavanger in 9-12 June 2023. The hotel is booked (close to the airport) and call for abstracts is finalised and will be released shortly. A final decision on the meeting must be made by March 2023. Siri and her team welcomed all attendees.
- 12. Other items. Carl Horsley raised the question of what the ExCom is doing to disseminate ideas further than the members, specifically to the clinician community. Work is happening through grants to disseminate the ideas through the research community e.g. Siri's EU Horizon Grant. Meredith Allen talked about setting up a group to develop small clinical projects for ideas that can be implemented bedside. Developing a dissemination strategy was agreed as a topic for discussion at the next Summer meeting.
- 13. Next meeting of the General Assembly. Next meeting August 2024 (date to be confirmed).

Closure 12:58 CEST